>Oldies Quiz

>Welcome to “The Doo-Wop Oldies Quiz.”
Take the 20 question quiz and see how you score as a true “Oldies Fan.”
If you pass, you qualify as a Geezer.

1. When did “Little Suzie” finally wake up?
a) The movie’s over, it’s 2 o’clock
b) The movie’s over, it’s 3 o’clock
c) The movie’s over, it’s 4 o’clock
d) She died

2. “Rock Around The Clock” was used in what movie?
a) Rebel Without A Cause
b) Blackboard Jungle
c) The Wild Ones
d) The Stephen Hawking Story

3. What’s missing? “Earth_____”. “_____Baby”.
a) Angle
b) Angel
c) Ba donk a donk
d) Invasion

4. “I found my thrill…” where?
a) Kansas City
b) Heartbreak Hotel
c) Blueberry Hill
d) Innocent Bystanders

5. “Please turn on your magic beam, _____ _____ bring me a dream”
a) Mr. Sandman
b) Earth Angel
c) Dream Lover
d) Mr. Tambourine Man

6. For which label did Elvis Presley first record?
a) Chancellor
b) RCA
c) Sun
d) Peanut Butter

7. He asked, “Why is everybody always pickin’ on me?” Who was he?
a) Bad Bad Leroy Brown
b) Charlie Brown
c) Buster Brown
d) Scott Thomas Beauchump

8. In Bobby Darin’s “Mack The Knife”, the one with the knife, was named:
a) MacHeath
b) MacCloud
c) MacNamara
d) MacGiver

9. Name the song with “A-wop bop a-loo bop a-lop bam boom”?
a) Good Golly Miss Molly
b) Be-Bop-A-Lula
c) Tutti Fruitti
d) Ave Maria

10. Who is generally given credit for the term “Rock And Roll”?
a) Dick Clark
b) Wolfman Jack
c) Alan Freed
d) Al Gore

11. In 1957, he left the music business to become a preacher.
a) Little Richard
b) Frankie Lymon
c) Tony Orlando
d) Ted Kennedy

12. Paul Anka’s “Puppy Love” is written to what star?
a) Brenda Lee
b) Connie Francis
c) Annette Funicello
d) Ace of Spades

13. The Everly Brothers are…
a) Pete and Dick
b) Don and Phil
c) Bob and Bill
d) Always fighting

14. The Big Bopper’s real name was:
a) Jiles P. Richardson
b) Roy Harold Scherer Jr.
c) Marion Michael Morrison
d) Dick Cheney

15. In 1959, Berry Gordy Jr. started a small record company called…
a) Decca
b) Cameo
c) Motown
d) Teletubbys

16. Edd Brynes had a hit with “Kookie, Kookie, Lend Me Your Comb.”.
What TV show was he on?
a) 77 Sunset Strip
b) Hawaiian Eye
c) Surfside Six
d) Queer Eye for Spudders

17. In 1960 Bobby Darin married:
a) Carol Lynley
b) Sandra Dee
c) Natalie Wood
d) Bobby Dylan in a secret ceremony

18. They were a one hit wonder with “Book Of Love.”
a) The Penguins
b) The Monotones
c) The Moonglows
d) Bill and Hillary

19. What is located “26 miles across the sea”?
a) Baskin Robbins
b) Santa Catalina
c) Iran
d) Miami Dolphins

20. The Greatest music video ever made is.
a) Pimp my Ride by the Car Toons
b) Jungle Dancin’ by Jack Hanna
c) Honky Tonk Woman by Rosie O’Donnell
d) I Can Give You What You Want by The New Young Pony Club

I’ll put the answers in the first comment.

About Retired Geezer

Just another Old Retired Geezer in the Spud State.

Posted on August 10, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. >Answers:The correct answer for each question is ‘d’.No, just kidding, here’s the real answers: 1. c) The movie’s over, it’s 4 o’clock 2. b) Blackboard Jungle 3. b) Angel 4. c) Blueberry Hill 5. a) Mr. Sandman 6. c) Sun 7. b) Charlie Brown 8. a) MacHeath 9. c) Tutti Fruitti10. c) Alan Freed11. a) Little Richard12. c) Annette Funicello13. b) Don and Phil14. a) Jiles P. Richardson15. c) Motown16. a) 77 Sunset Strip17. b) Sandra Dee18. b) The Monotones

  2. >I thought for sure Dick Cheney was the Big Bopper’s real name.

  3. >Forgot 19 and 20:19. b) Santa Catalina20. ) I Can Give You What You Want by The New Young Pony Club

  4. >I got 10, so I’m only half-geezerized. Good to know.

  5. >I didn’t guess on number 20, but I got 18 right. I missed the Monotones answer. Not bad for a 39 year old that mostly listens to country western.

  6. >I got most of them right and I’m just a few days shy of 40. Maybe I’m a geezer at heart. I aspire to be a curmudgeon though.

  7. >I actually got a few (I will not admit to the real number). I feel old in that regard.

  8. >I knew more of these than I care to admit, but most of this stuff predates me.

