>Gun-Free Zones

>Here’s some common sense from Ted Nugent:

Zero tolerance, huh? Gun-free zones, huh? Try this on for size: Columbine gun-free zone, New York City pizza shop gun-free zone, Luby’s Cafeteria gun-free zone, Amish school in Pennsylvania gun-free zone and now Virginia Tech gun-free zone.

My hero, Dr. Suzanne Gratia Hupp, was not allowed by Texas law to carry her handgun into Luby’s Cafeteria that fateful day in 1991, when due to bureaucrat-forced unarmed helplessness she could do nothing to stop satanic George Hennard from killing 23 people and wounding more than 20 others before he shot himself. Hupp was unarmed for no other reason than denial-ridden “feel good” politics.
.

Better go read the whole thing.

UPDATE: My buddy, Rex Dart, Eskimo Spy gave me this link to Another Virginia shooting before guns were banned on campus. Want to guess how differently it turned out?

About Retired Geezer

Just another Old Retired Geezer in the Spud State.

Posted on April 21, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. >Hi Geezer,As You very well know … I don’t understand why there is only to solutions in your point of view:Kill – or get killedI can understand that You all are frighten of criminals with guns. But, when does a criminal get a criminal? They are not born that way!!!Let’s say You have a gun dear Geezer, something happens neurological with You, and You think that the school down the road are all teaching the pupils how to kill You … with other words … you have gone paranoid.One day You just know You have to stop this and go to the school and shout them all down … Result: Many killed pupils and teachers. Everyone else will say; Why didn’t anyone see this coming? Why didn’t anyone shout Geezer first? More weapon to the people!!!!!!We don’t want You killed dear Geezer!Trauma can happen to anyone … anyone can under the right (wrong) circumstances become a killer of innocent people. (( Love ))

  2. >Yes, but if someone went nuts and tried to kill innocent people, I would hope that a law abiding citizen would be there to stop them before they killed more people.This is exactly what happened in a shopping mall in Utah. The shooter was stopped before he could kill any more people.I really don’t care *why* he was killing people, I just want him stopped.

  3. >I’m with you you Geezer. Anna Lys, your comment misses the point that only the nutzo is going to misuse the gun (kill innocent people). The order in which they go paranoid and buy a gun is irrelevant. This guy was probably crazy before he bought those guns.Geezer, in case you didn’t know, you’ve been on LogiPundit’s list (very short list) or “Idaho Blogs” for a while. Forming a sort of ad hoc “Senate” of those that keep up with local politics as well.Do us the honor of stopping by and adding us to your blogroll.

  4. >One out of a thousand people (I’m completely guessing, but I’d bet it’s closer to one out of million) will experience a psychotic break and go on a rampage. That leaves 999 people to stop him. If you outlaw guns, the rampage will still happen, but you’ll only have one or two guys to stop him (the police).The insane will always find a way to cause harm. Why punish those who want to protect themselves?

  5. >I’ve added LogiPundit to my blogroll.Go by and see their excellent post on Gun Free Zones.

  6. >Anna-Lys, if someone wants to get a weapon and commit murder, he’s going to do it. Doesn’t matter what the laws are. They’ll get broken. When you disarm law-abiding citizens, all you do is render the innocent unable to protect themselves and each other.Sounds trite, but the old bumper-sticker is true: When guns are outlawed, only outlaws will have guns.(sorry if this is a double-post; I forgot to enter my name.)

  7. >In real life, sometimes it is “kill or get killed”.And unless we’re constantly monitering every citizen’s brainwaves, how can we prevent a crazy person from doing something like this?I’m sure the EU would love to put brain moniters on everyone, but the fact remains that an armed citizenry is in a good position to stop attacks like this.

  8. >World Net Daily has a great story when VT has not a gun free zone. http://worldnetdaily.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=55326

  9. >Thank You all for trying to make me love killing people … but, I am a stubborn redhead like Pippi Longstocking (also Swedish *lol*)With more weapons it will be more killing AND people that usually are not insane … will walk that road … and be very very sorry … when sober.Criminals will always have narcotics and weapons … but still they are what they are criminals!A NASA-guy went to NASA and killed a person … thank God that all NASA people did not carry weapons … that would be a blood bath, would’nt it?Killing your boss due to your own incompetence at work … is one of the problems I meant. Don’t tell me this is not a real problem.( hug )

  10. >No one is trying to make you love killing people. I hope you were trying to make a joke. I don’t know why it would have been a blood bath if NASA employees carried weapons. Maybe the killer would have been stopped before an innocent life was taken.

  11. >”In real life, sometimes it is “kill or get killed””It is a way of telling me that our lives in Scandinavia is unreal … and that real life is war. And that everyone should think the American way. We was like that but stopped after the Viking Era. My intension was a discussion around the problem, but You don’t seem to see the problem from all perspectives. I told You from the beginning that I understand that You are frightened.Last time I lived in Washington DC for more than a month, I was working at Georgetown University. On my way to work I meet many strange pattern of behaviour. Let me take one example:A car wheel exploded, people threw themselves on the pavement and many ran down to the subway, or more jumped down. A lot of people got hurt due to the paranoid fear … it was just a car wheel … I am very happy that people did not start shooting at that car owner or each other.Don’t take my discussion wrong!I care, I care a lot. I’ve been living in US since 1975, now and then. And it hurt to see this change over only 30 years. I think it is more important to work with this problem than to get more weapons to every citizen.On your TV I saw lots of propaganda that create a paranoid society, telling defense, defense !!! Homeland security etc.I was also kind of socially involved in the Anthrax matter at Washington Post. I know how many lies there where created to get more “defense” … I know … and I see the same happening all over again around the climate-change debate. OK … why do I have to defense my opinion … is that democratic?Why shall we the people become criminals, instead of the criminals becomes humans? Why don’t we give pills to the insane instead of weapons to the sane?(( hugs ))

  12. >”I’m sure the EU would love to put brain moniters on everyone, but the fact remains that an armed citizenry is in a good position to stop attacks like this.# posted by Lipstick : 11:26 PM I don’t know how to meet this properly … maybe this is just an other example on your view of Europeans … are we next in line for bombs?Do You actually see us as people who want to put brain monitors on You? Is that something You all share? I love Americans, but I think this new way of thinking about foreigners as brain wave reading aliens is also an example of your fear. ( hug )

  13. >So no one thinks that I mean that You Americans are paranoid … I mean a Paranoid Society. There is a couple of articles easy read … here is an example:”Paranoia is as integral a part of modern American culture as McDonald’s. Among other symptoms of a paranoid society, we have a remarkable appetite for restraining orders, personal-injury lawsuits, electronic home alarm systems, and independent prosecutors. We are rude, obnoxious and suspicious; we snoop, nose, and pry; we insulate ourselves from our neighbors and have long since mastered the “not in my backyard” attitude that continues to vex planners and politicians.It’s been getting worse over the years. Fifty years ago, a new family moving into a community was likely to be greeted by the neighbors and perhaps given a welcome pie or pastry. In modern, anesthetic suburbia, you’re lucky to even know your neighbors. My own family doesn’t know the family that has lived across the street from us for 21 years � we call them the “Personalities.””More here (and elsewhere):http://www-tech.mit.edu/V119/N3/plosky.3c.html

  14. >I agree that everyone has a right to their own perspective. But I have long wondered, why is it that Europeans always describe the US by spouting cliches and stereotypes?

  15. >Anna-Lys,there are millions of armed Americans who live their lives without hurting a soul.They stand in the same lines at the store as everyone else, they drink at the same bars, they encounter the same irritating situations as everyone else, with grace and patience.We are normal, responsible people who- like most humans- can easily distinguish between a minor irritation, and a life-threatening situation which may call for deadly force. Which fortunately should almost never arise.The only difference between the average person who is armed, and the average person who is not, is their chance of being able to help others when bad situations arise, and the odds of their own survival.You portray those who carry firearms in a ridiculous light.Most people are reasonable, decent, and prudent. They are the same whether they carry a gun or not. There is no property of a firearm that can change the character of the person who owns it.While you lived in the States you may have enjoyed the company of many who, unknown to you, carried a weapon.I’m glad you never had to see them use it.

  16. >why is it that Europeans always describe the US by spouting cliches and stereotypes? Because they cling vainly to the notion that their perspective is superior.If Theo van Gogh had been armed he could have survived. It took that asshole quite some time to kill him.I understand why Europeans don’t comprehend the Second Amendment. They’re still sore from the last time we employed it against a tyrant king.

  17. >Gov. Perry signed emergency powers bill SB 112 which prevents peace officers from confiscating weapons from law abiding citizens during a natural emergency (such as a hurricane); this happened quite a bit in Louisiana following Katrina.

  18. >That’s great news for law abiding Texans.I wonder if Idaho has such a law.

