>Pheasant by the Fence

>click for photo
I glanced out the kitchen window and saw this Ring-Necked Pheasant walking along the barbwire fence.

The Flamingos don’t appear to be alarmed by his presence.

When I was 14 we took a vacation trip to Oregon and I found a feather from a Pheasant. When I got back to school, I wrote a vacation essay about it, only I called it a Ring Naked Pheasant.

About Retired Geezer

Just another Old Retired Geezer in the Spud State.

Posted on February 26, 2007, in Wildlife. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. >It took me a while to find the pheasant. Maybe I shouldn’t carry a shotgun anymore.

  2. >”Ring-Naked” LOLTo bad he is not “showing off” his beautiful back-feathers (I am glad You are very competent in understanding Swenglish);-)

  3. >The flamingos is only garden statues aren’t they?(I have re-opened my personal blog, also)How are You?

  4. >I’ve seen many of those in my days in Northern Indiana. Used to hunt them a lot.Harsh winters and lack of fence rows have lowered the population some. Absolutley beautiful birds.Cool pic Geez.Anna-lys, we don’t have pink flamingos (I don’t think) in the Northern U.S. Florida does, but not where Geezer lives.

  5. >Anna-Lys, yes those are statues. They are considered Tacky and in Bad Taste.That’s precisely why I have them.I knew a girl in Las Vegas who had live pink Flamingos. Those suckers are very High Maintenence. You have to cook their food and keep their water at the right temperature and cleanliness and Ph… Too much work for me.One of the things I like about Idaho is the vast variety of birds and wildlife. We’ve seen coyotes, doves, pheasants, ducks, geese, magpies, woodpeckers, robins, meadowlarks… the list goes on.We even had a big wild turkey wander into the yard.

