>Weird Al Honored

>When I was a Lightman in Las Vegas, I had the pleasure of doing the lighting for Weird Al for his spoof “Living With A Hernia”. The reason I got the privilege was that I had run the lighting console for the movie “Rocky IV”, at least the scenes that were shot at Bally’s (MGM). Weird Al was parodying James Brown’s music video “Living in America”, which I have on DVD. You can actually *see* me in one fleeting shot. Here’s a couple of pictures I shot during the filming. (I thought I had the pictures on my computer but it looks like I have to scan them first. Come back later to see the pictures)

“It is time to congratulate the man who once rewrote Paul McCartney’s ‘Live and Let Die’ as ‘Chicken Pot Pie.’ (McCartney, a vegetarian, denied him permission to record the song, on the grounds that it promoted the slaughter of animals.) ‘Weird Al’ Yankovic, satirical pop-goblin and parody merchant, has not simply endured but triumphed: His new album, ‘Straight Outta Lynwood’ (Volcano), shot into the Billboard Top 10 upon its release last month–his highest chart placing since he opened his one-man spoof-factory in the early ’80s.

White, nerdy, and here to stay – The Boston Globe:

About Retired Geezer

Just another Old Retired Geezer in the Spud State.

Posted on October 23, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. >Come back later to see the pictures Promises, promises.

  2. >That video is da bomb. Perfect. Even my kids love it.

