>I Hate Fireworks

>I love the 4th of July holiday.
I even have the Martina McBride song, Independence Day, as a ringtone on my phone.

But I hate Fireworks in the hands of Amateurs.

I have lost property, including a car, to Safe and Sane Fireworks.

You can buy semi-professional stuff in my county in Idaho. You know, the kind of stuff that shoots up in the air and explodes.
Mrs. Geezer was once hit in the shoulder by a ‘Mortar’.
We were at the neighbors to see their fireworks display.
The teenagers lit one of these beauties and it tipped over and aimed at all of us sitting in the driveway in lawn chairs. Pretty much like the commercial I saw recently on TV.
It went off and shot the exploding part at us. It hit Mrs. Geezer in the shoulder, bounced off and exploded, setting the blankets on fire.

We don’t go to any more neighborhood fireworks shows.

The picture shows the neighbor pulling a disker with his tractor. He’s cutting a fire break around his 100 acre field. You can see that he has already graded a smooth area around the fence line.

About Retired Geezer

Just another Old Retired Geezer in the Spud State.

Posted on July 3, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. >I hate them too, Mr. Geezer, even though I love the holiday. When I was a child, a neighbor child was blinded by fireworks gone wrong, and the yearly news stories about people’s houses burning down, etce., break my heart. Haven’t the firefighters told us long enough how dangerous this is? It’s ridiculous. Especially since males love to make things explode and light things on fire . Leave it to the pros and go to a fireworks show.Me

  2. >I used to think that going to a show was kind of a wussy thing to do… not any more.Every year in Las Vegas, you would read about somebody’s house burning down because a bottle rocket set their shake roof on fire.

  3. >”I have lost property, including a car, to Safe and Sane Fireworks.”*Correction–you lost property to a person who misused fireworks.To lay blame on the fireworks is the same as anti-gunners laying blame on firearms for whatever the recent idiot/criminal did with one.What makes someone a “professional” anyway? I drove a limo in Seattle for awhile, without taking classes or getting any sort of special endorsement. But everyone felt safer with me driving because I was a “professional.” While I WAS a professional about my driving, the general notion that since I was a professional, I was immediately trusted by complete strangers is laughable. I paid attention and followed the basic guidelines of driving a larger vehicle, (generally stopping and following distances). Zero accidents, minus bottoming out in the 10 passenger one time.

  4. >To lay blame on the fireworks is the same as anti-gunners laying blame on firearms for whatever the recent idiot/criminal did with one.Good point, Jason. Thanks for the correction.Soooooo, about bottoming out those passengers…?

  5. >I like blowing stuff up, or watching that happen, but have not done that in a looooong time. When some not so safe-and-sane (and illegal here) hot bottle rockets landed on our roof during a very dry season I was pretty pissed-off at nimrod fireworks-jerks. There’s no excuse for stupid. Go ahead and blow your damn fingers off and what-not parts, put them in your stupid baggy pants for all I care – but put other people in jepordy for your stupid low brain-cell count behavior, and it’s smackdown time.

