>The Big Nest

>

Mrs. Geezer hasn’t been out to her garden in a couple of months. We went out there today to pull the weeds.

Imagine our surprise when we saw a HUGE Birds nest in the Pine Tree.

We never noticed any birds constructing it. I have no idea when they did it.
I don’t even know what kind of bird it belongs to.
It ain’t a sparrow, that’s for sure.

My guess is a Red-Tailed Hawk. Mrs. G. thinks it’s a Magpie nest.

One thing is sure, it’s a Big Flippin’ Nest. It’s as big as a 30 gallon trash can.

I’m wondering what’s going to happen in the Summer when we’re spending a lot of time out there. I hope we don’t interfere with the baby hatching.

It’s made of pretty strong twigs and it has a roof.
Maybe it’s an Owl’s Nest. I hope so, he can have all the Gophers he can eat.
After reading about them, I’m thinking Mrs. G. is right about it being a Magpie nest.

UPDATE: I just went out with my flashlight to see what was in the nest. I crept up close to the tree and BLASTED THE NEST WITH MY FLASHLIGHT.
Didn’t see anything.
I started to get my face up close to the hole and then I remembered.
Remember the movie Alien? Remember the Pods?
The thought went through my mind that if a big bird came shooting out of the nest into my face, they would find my dead body right there in the morning.
Heart Failure.
I chickened out and went back inside.

About Retired Geezer

Just another Old Retired Geezer in the Spud State.

Posted on April 2, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. >”Discretion is the better part of valor.” I forget who said that. Probably someone who ran away.By the way, I looked up magpies and the article said they will eat anything. Maybe your gopher problems are over.

  2. >Looks like a magpie nest to me. I predict the conclusion of this story will involve a 12 gauge.

  3. >You mean, “Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt” won’t work?

