>Best Song Intros

>
OK Funseekers, time to post your Favorite Song Intros, or perhaps they should be called the Most Distinctive Song Intros.

We’re talking about Intros so Distinctive that you know the name of the song within the first five notes (or 3 seconds).
My friends and I called this game, “Stump the Jock”

You know, like Deep Purple’s “Smoke on the Water”.
Dun Dun Duhhhh
Dun Dun Di Duhhh
Dun Dun Duhhh
Dun Duhhh*

Like the Stones, “Satisfaction. (that was a two-note gimme)

Like the Kinks:
“You Really Got Me” or “All Day and All The Night”.

Leave your nominations in the comments.

Update: photo isn’t loading, you can see it here.
Bonus points for identifying the band in this photo, I shot from the lightbooth.

About Retired Geezer

Just another Old Retired Geezer in the Spud State.

Posted on March 18, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. >Stranglehold – Ted NugentPurple Haze – Jimi HendrixRock Candy – MontroseRidin’ the Storm Out – REO SpeedwagonIs that Styx?

  2. >Eye In The Sky – Alan Parsons ProjectThat looks like Deep Purple to me. Where did you get the idea of using all that purple light? God, that’s just brilliant! See, like the band’s name is Deep Purple . . .

  3. >Kudos to Chris, BTW, for remembering Ridin’ the Storm Out. I love that opening siren-wail from the guitar.

  4. >ner ner Ner ner ner ner ner. Layla.

  5. >Chris was correct, the band was Styx. I love their intro to “Blue Collar Man”.That funkyStyx organ. Yeah Baby. (I’m listening to it now)They sound better live than on disk.The Keyboard player kicks ass.If they play near you, try to go, it’s an exciting show.Coincidentally enough, REO Speedwagon was the backup band when I took that picture.Blogger is still not letting me upload the photo to the main post.Donnah, what no Allman Bros?Michael, good choice. Those guys had chops and a unique sound. Listening to it next.How about Journey? Separate Ways is one of my favorites.More insight into my musical taste here.

  6. >I can’t believe nobody’s posted it yet! Don’t Fear the Reaper by Blue Oyster Cult of course. Another intro I’ve always liked is Barracuda by Heart. Hmmm, lotsa choices here. How ’bout Spirit in the Sky by Norman Greenbaum. You get that one on the first note!

  7. >Enas, good ones. Yeah I have Barracuda as another one of my Ringtones. Not for Mrs. Geezer, her ring tone is “I’ve Been Waiting For a Girl Like You”, by Foreigner.Don’t Fear the Reaper and Spirit in the Sky. That’s what I’m talking about. You hear it and right away you KNOW what it is.Anybody remember Hold Your Head Up by Argent?

  8. >That Argent song starts the same way that Dream Weaver, by Gary Wright, does.

  9. >BTW, if anybody wants to hear any of the songs that *I* mentioned, I’ll be glad to email it to them.How about Oye Como Va by Santana.You *do* know that Carlos Santana didn’t sing all those songs, don’t you?That was done by Gregg Rolie, who also sang the lead on Black Magic Woman and Evil Ways.After Santana, he went on to form Journey with Neal Schon.

  10. >The intro to “Lunatic Fringe” by Red Rider is particularly distinctive as well – kind of a whistling tone that suddenly goes from a low tone to a very high one and then back down to a quaver that streatches a bit before the guitar kicks in. Very effective at setting a kind of tension that the rest of the song carries in the lyrics and music. It was a minor hit as songs go and it doesn’t get much airplay. In a different direction – how about “The Pink Panther” theme? I know that one right off the first piano chord. Henry Mancini had a very good knack for coming up with distinctive and catchy themes. How about the least recognizable songs by famous bands? I offer up “Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together in a Cave and Grooving with a Pict”. It’s an actual song title on a real album that you can still buy today. Can you guess the band without google?

  11. >If I *had* to make a guess, I would say probably Pink Floyd. Seems like something they might do.

  12. >HAH excellent! Yes indeedy Pink Floyd. One of their early exploratory works on the album Ummagumma. You probably remembered my penchant for obscure Floyd works in another discussion topic. :-)I’m still trying to figure out the band in your picture, but I’m at a loss. Any hints?

  13. >Um, Enas, the “hint” was Geezer saying it was Styx in his 4:32 p.m. comment.BTW, today’s Doonesbury featured old songs.

  14. >Whoops! Scrolled too fast to read everything! Nevermind.

  15. >Distinctive song openings:1. “Dazed and Confused” by Led Zeppelin2. “Whole Lotta Love” by Led Zeppelin3. “Immigrant Song” by Led Zeppelin4. “Black Dog” by Led Zeppelin5. “Kashmir” by Led ZeppelinLed Zeppelin was the greatest band to walk the earth, and will retain that honor until the universe succumbs to heat death. I once killed a man with a potato peeler for suggesting otherwise.

  16. >OK, everybody is going for dramatic guitar intros. Open your mind. Think about the ultimate Baby Boomer anthem. The intro was not guitar, it was gentle electric organ. You recognize the song in about a nanosecond after you hear the opening chord.Whiter Shade of Pale — Procul Harum

  17. >The great thing about A Whiter Shade of Pale is that it is indelibly associated with the funeral scene in The Big Chill. The great thing about The Big Chill is that it came out right around the time that most of us Baby Boomers started figuring out that we were going to die.

  18. >Michael possesses great descriptive imagery. I knew what song he was describing before he got to the punch line.Oh, and the second post made me laugh.Mortal, Indeed.

  19. >It seems Scott has a woody for all things Zep.I wonder if he would add me to his blogroll if he knew I have on tape, an interview with Jimmy Page, that I did back in the early 70’s.At Caesars Palace in Vegas.When he was in bed with a groupie.Nahhh, probably not.

  20. >Mrs. Geezer got the Procol Harum song about a half-nanosecond into it.Good addition to the list.

  21. >”Donnah, what no Allman Bros?”Geezer, the opening lick to Layla *is* an Allman.

  22. >Uh, oh yeah, I knew that.*hangs head in shame*

  23. >Donnah, what no Skynard?Heh heh heh

  24. >”Meat is Murder” by the Smiths. It’s a crappy song, but they’ve got the sounds of cows mooing in the intro. I guess it’s supposed to make us feel bad for the cows in the slaughterhouse, but it always makes me giggle. I can just picture Morrissey in the studio, “Can we make the cows sound more sad?”.

  25. >How about Jefferson Airplanes’s White rabbit? Or In a Gadda da Vida?My favorite intro was on Louie Louie by the Original Wailers, when the intro was a bari. sax. A little obscure, but worth finding. It was a hit on the West Coast a couple of years before the Kingsmen covered it and got a national hit with the song…. ……Mr. C.

  26. >Okay geez, I’ve added you to the illustrious LMNOP blogroll. Now you owe me some details of that Page interview!

  27. >Sunshine of your love-CreamSpanish Moon – Little FeatMomma Told Me Not to Come – Three Dog Night

  28. >I’m not familiar with the Little Feat tune, but those others have instant recognition.

  29. >My gosh, I leave town for a few days and find that I completely missed a music thread. Allow me to add a few late nominations (that actually date from within the past 20 years):- “Welcome to the Jungle,” Guns N’ Roses. The definitive song of strip clubs and sports arenas throughout the world.- “Smells Like Teen Spirit,” Nirvana. Anyone from Gens X and Y would recognize the guitar lick immediately.- “Closer,” Nine Inch Nails. A catchy if rather profane tune with an infamous electronic drum opening hook.

  30. >Speaking of Pink Floyd, “Welcome to the Machine” has no intro music at all.And how could I forget Frank Zappa’s “My Guitar Wants to Kill Your Mama”?

  31. >Re-read the (cow) comment today, by DBS, and it reminded me of this little haunting video. Mrs. Geezer thinks I’m crazy, but I really like it.http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1502394/20050516/shins_the.jhtml?headlines=trueCardboard Cows

  32. >Does anyone remember which band intro’d a song with a female announcer saying. Are you sitting comfortably then we’ll begin.

  33. >Sprung Monkey did that… but that’s probably not who you’re thinking of 🙂

  34. >a hard day’s night — the beatles

  35. >yeah, definitely a hard days night, you know that from the first note.also, like a rolling stone – same thing, first note. and, seven army nation by the white stripes.

