Apple’s iTunes raises privacy concerns.

Apple’s iTunes raises privacy concerns | CNET News.com:
“…A new version of Apple Computer’s popular iTunes software, released Tuesday, is drawing barbs from privacy advocates for sending information about computer users’ playlists back to Apple…”

UPDATE: Apple tweaks the software to allow turning *off* the mini-store.

About Retired Geezer

Just another Old Retired Geezer in the Spud State.

Posted on January 12, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the link. They’re not going to be able to get away with this.

  2. Interesting. The first thing I did after I got my iPod and installed iTunes was disable all of the Music Store options. The AAC audio quality is just completely unsatisfactory and I had no intention of ever buying anything that I wouldn’t have in CD form as a permanent backup. So hopefully none of my information is being transmitted.

    Although I would think that, to record into a database all user information on every song they load from a playlist would probably reach infinity and prove impossible anyway. So probably this is much ado about nothing.

